First Love

Texas beauty.

That’s what you would call me.

I was young, but so in love with my marine.

You promised to ask for my hand in marriage.

You said, “I will be home soon. Promise you’ll wait for me.”

You’d email me sweet love letters.

You’d talk to me about our future together.

When it was time for you to leave,

You wrote me,

“My sweet Texas beauty,

I must take care of some things.

It may turn out bad,

But I love you. Don’t for get that.”

I trembled in fear not knowing what you meant.

I wrote you a letter as you asked that I do,

And when I received one back,

It was from your father telling me the sad news.

“He has been killed.

I’m sorry to tell you.

We knew about you,

And wanted to meet you soon.”

I never got to say goodbye to my first love.

I lived many years with you on my mind.

After marriage and kids,

I’d still have days I’d cry.

After thirteen years,

I got to kneel at your gravesite for the first time.

Finally, I got to say goodbye to my first love,

My world,

My life.

To this day,

Even as time flies by,

I still think of you,

That smile,

And what we could have been in life.

You may be gone,

But I’m still here

Carrying you in my heart.

Still loving you like you’re not gone,

And hoping one day we will reunite.

My first love,

I will always be yours, and you mine.

RIP Mike

6/14/1981-10/26/2003

8 thoughts on “First Love

  1. Wow. So sad but so beautiful as well. I understand the missing and the longing and yes, or day you’ll see him again. And when you think of him he is near…thank you for sharing your heart.ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment